As workers, seafarers also benefit from standards adopted by the International Labour Organisation (ILO). The ILO sets international labour standards in the form of conventions and recommendations.


Core ILO Conventions

Eight Conventions are considered fundamental to the rights of human beings at work.

  1. Forced Labour Convention, 1930 (No. 29) ;
  2. Freedom of Association and Protection of the Right to Organise Convention, 1948 (No. 87);
  3. Right to Organise and Collective Bargaining Convention, 1949 (No. 98) ;
  4. Equal Remuneration Convention, 1951 (No. 100) ;
  5. Abolition of Forced Labour Convention, 1957 (No. 105) ;
  6. Discrimination (Employment and Occupation) Convention, 1958 (No. 111) ;
  7. Minimum Age Convention, 1973 (No. 138) ;
  8. Worst Forms of Child Labour Convention, 1999 (No. 182) .


ILO Standards For Seafarers

The Maritime Labour Convention 2006 embodies all up to date standards of existing international maritime labour conventions and recommendations, as well as the fundamental principles to be found in other international labour conventions.